Ferdinand Holder

I was just going through my notebook, seeing what I wrote down (plenty) during my Switzerland-Lyon-Rome trip. There were so many things I wanted to blog, but internet and free time were either sparse or better spent otherwise.

One of these blogging topics was the mid to late 19th century painter Ferdinand Hodler, who’s work I discovered at Kunsthaus in Zurich.

Kunsthaus Zurich... A rather sober establishment in more ways than one, but relevant nonetheless.

I loved his use of color, his clay-like bodies, his insistance on symmetry and his heavy use of symbolism.

The Day by Ferdinand Hodler

Day Truth, Hodler

Leave a Reply

